NY Traffic Points and Penalties

< § 600(1)(a)

Index

§ 1102 >

§ 600(2)(a)

Personal Injury Accident - Leaving Scene

§ 600(2)

(a) Any person operating a motor vehicle who, knowing or having cause to know that personal injury has been caused to another person, due to an incident involving the motor vehicle operated by such person shall, before leaving the place where the said personal injury occurred,

(c) A violation of the provisions of § 600(2)(a) resulting solely from the failure of an operator to exhibit his or her license and insurance identification card for the vehicle or exchange the information required in such paragraph shall constitute a class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $200 to $500 in addition to any other penalties provided by law.

Any subsequent such violation shall constitute a class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $500 to $1,000 in addition to any other penalties provided by law.

Any violation of the provisions of § 600(2)(a), other than for the mere failure of an operator to exhibit his or her license and insurance identification card for such vehicle or exchange the information required in such paragraph, shall constitute a class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $500 to $1,000 in addition to any other penalties provided by law.

Any such violation committed by a person after such person has previously been convicted of such a violation shall constitute a class E felony, punishable by a fine of $1,000 to $2,500 in addition to any other penalties provided by law.

Any violation of the provisions of § 600(2)(a), other than for the mere failure of an operator to exhibit his or her license and insurance identification card for such vehicle or exchange the information required in such paragraph, where the personal injury involved

(i) results in serious physical injury, as defined in § 10.00 of the penal law, shall constitute a class E felony, punishable by a fine of $1,000 to $5,000 in addition to any other penalties provided by law, or

(ii) results in death shall constitute a class D felony punishable by a fine of $2,000 to $5,000 in addition to any other penalties provided by law.

(1) A sentence of imprisonment for a class A misdemeanor shall not exceed one year[.]

(2) A sentence of imprisonment for a class B misdemeanor shall not exceed three months.

(3) A sentence of imprisonment for an unclassified misdemeanor shall be in accordance with the sentence specified in the law or ordinance that defines the crime.

(4) A sentence of imprisonment for a violation shall not exceed 15 days.

In the case of a violation defined outside the Penal Law, if the sentence is expressly specified in the law or ordinance that defines the offense and consists solely of a fine, no term of imprisonment shall be imposed.

(1)(c) Whenever proceedings in an administrative tribunal or a court of New York result in a conviction for an offense or a traffic infraction under the VTL, there shall be levied a crime victim assistance fee in the amount of $5 and a mandatory surcharge, in addition to any sentence required or permitted by law, in the amount of $55.

(9) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 1809(1), in the event a proceeding is in a town or village court, the court shall add an additional $5 to the surcharges imposed by § 1809(1).

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, whenever proceedings in a court or an administrative tribunal of New York result in a conviction for an offense or for a traffic infraction under the VTL, there shall be levied in addition to any sentence, penalty or other surcharge required or permitted by law, an additional surcharge of $28.

The following violations shall not be assigned any point value:

(iii) any violation, other than a violation set forth in 15 NYCRR 131.3(b)(1) through (6), for which suspension or revocation action is mandated upon conviction[.]

Such licenses [as defined in § 510(1)] shall be revoked and such registrations may also be revoked where the holder is convicted:

(iii) of any violation of § 600(2) or § 392 or of a local law or ordinance making it unlawful to leave the scene of an accident without reporting[.]

Last verified: 2017-02-12