NY Traffic Points and Penalties
Property Damage Accident - Leaving Scene
(a) Any person operating a motor vehicle who, knowing or having cause to know that damage has been caused to the real property or to the personal property, not including animals, of another, due to an incident involving the motor vehicle operated by such person shall, before leaving the place where the damage occurred,
- exhibit his or her license and insurance identification card for such vehicle, when such card is required pursuant to Art. 6 - Motor Vehicle Financial Security Act and Art. 8 - Indemnity Bonds or Insurance Policies on Vehicles Transporting Passengers for Hire, and
- give his or her name, residence, including street and number, insurance carrier and insurance identification information including but not limited to the number and effective dates of said individual's insurance policy, and license number to the party sustaining the damage, or in case the person sustaining the damage is not present at the place where the damage occurred then he or she shall report the same as soon as physically able to the nearest police station, or judicial officer.
(b) * * *
A violation of the provisions of § 600(1)(a) shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of up to $250 or a sentence of imprisonment for up to 15 days or both such fine and imprisonment.
(1)(c) Whenever proceedings in an administrative tribunal or a court of New York result in a conviction for an offense … or a traffic infraction under the VTL…, there shall be levied a crime victim assistance fee in the amount of $5 and a mandatory surcharge, in addition to any sentence required or permitted by law, in the amount of $55.
(9) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 1809(1), in the event a proceeding is in a town or village court, the court shall add an additional $5 to the surcharges imposed by § 1809(1).
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, whenever proceedings in a court or an administrative tribunal of New York result in a conviction for an offense … or for a traffic infraction under the VTL, … there shall be levied in addition to any sentence, penalty or other surcharge required or permitted by law, an additional surcharge of $28.
The following violations shall be assigned a point value of three points:
(v) leaving the scene of a property damage incident or injury to an animal without reporting[.]
Last verified: 2018-03-31