NY Traffic Points and Penalties
Operating While Registration or Privilege Suspended or Revoked
Any person who operates any motor vehicle upon a public highway while the certificate of registration of such motor vehicle or privilege of operation of such motor vehicle in New York or privilege of obtaining a certificate of registration issued by the commissioner is suspended or revoked shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction shall be subject to
- a fine of $50 to $100 or by imprisonment for not exceeding 30 days or by both such fine and imprisonment for conviction of a first offense; by
- a fine of $100 to $200 or by imprisonment for not exceeding 90 days or by both such fine and imprisonment for a conviction of a second offense committed within a period of 18 months; by
- a fine of $200 to $500 or by imprisonment for not exceeding 180 days or by both such fine and imprisonment for a conviction of a third or subsequent offense committed within a period of 18 months.
(1)(c) Whenever proceedings in an administrative tribunal or a court of New York result in a conviction for an offense … or a traffic infraction under the VTL…, there shall be levied a crime victim assistance fee in the amount of $5 and a mandatory surcharge, in addition to any sentence required or permitted by law, in the amount of $55.
(9) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 1809(1), in the event a proceeding is in a town or village court, the court shall add an additional $5 to the surcharges imposed by § 1809(1).
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, whenever proceedings in a court or an administrative tribunal of New York result in a conviction for an offense … or for a traffic infraction under the VTL, … there shall be levied in addition to any sentence, penalty or other surcharge required or permitted by law, an additional surcharge of $28.
The following violations shall not be assigned any point value:
(i) any violation relating to vehicle registration, licensing or insurance[.]
Such licenses [as defined in § 510(1)] shall be revoked and such registrations may also be revoked where the holder is convicted:
(iv) of a third or subsequent violation, committed within a period of 18 months, of … any provision constituted a misdemeanor by the VTL, not included in § 510(2)(a)(i) or (iii), except violations of § 375(1) or of § 401(1) and similar violations under any local law, ordinance or regulation committed by an employed driver if the offense occurred while operating, in the course of his employment, a vehicle not owned by said driver, whether such three or more violations were repetitions of the same offense or were different offenses[.]
Last verified: 2017-02-12