NY Traffic Points and Penalties
Unapproved or Improperly Mounted Headlamp
(4) No headlamp shall be used upon any motor vehicle except a motorcycle operated upon the public highways of New York, unless such lamp is approved by the commissioner or is equipped with a lens or other device approved by the commissioner.
Every such headlamp, lens or other device shall be applied and adjusted in accordance with the requirements of the certificate approving the use thereof.
Every such headlamp shall be firmly and substantially mounted on the motor vehicle in such manner as to allow the lamp to be properly and readily adjusted.
The operator of every motor vehicle shall permit any policeman, police officer or other person exercising police powers to inspect the equipment of such motor vehicle, and make such tests as may be necessary to determine whether the provisions of § 375 are being complied with.
(32) The violation of [this provision of § 375] shall be punishable by a fine not exceeding $150 or by imprisonment for not exceeding 30 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment[.]
It is a traffic infraction for any person to violate any of the provisions of the VTL … unless such violation is by the VTL or other law of New York declared to be a misdemeanor or felony.
(1)(a) Whenever proceedings in an administrative tribunal or a court of New York result in a conviction for a traffic infraction pursuant to Art. 9 - Equipment of Motor Vehicles and Motorcycles, there shall be levied a crime victim assistance fee in the amount of $5 and a mandatory surcharge, in addition to any sentence required or permitted by law, in the amount of $25.
(9) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 1809(1), in the event a proceeding is in a town or village court, the court shall add an additional $5 to the surcharges imposed by § 1809(1).
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, whenever proceedings in a court or an administrative tribunal of New York result in a conviction for an offense … or for a traffic infraction under the VTL, … there shall be levied in addition to any sentence, penalty or other surcharge required or permitted by law, an additional surcharge of $28.
The following violations shall not be assigned any point value:
(ii) any violation relating to motor vehicle inspection, vehicle weights or dimensions or vehicle equipment other than inadequate service brakes[.]
Last verified: 2017-02-12